Scintillating live music and burlesque!

Something’s A-brewing…

Coming Up Next…

PANDORA_FAN_MISS_KISS_1

AWAKENINGS

at the

Vancouver International Burlesque Festival

We will be bringing our full-length production Awakenings to the VIBF on Friday, May 2 at the Vogue Theatre. Or exploration of dreams, the moon cycle, and the ethereal world will feature some favourites from the show’s last run, but will comprise mostly of brand new, top-secret work.

On Stage:

VORACIOUS V

RUTHE ORDARE

NICKY NINEDOORS

MISS KISS

MISS FITT

CAROLE BRUNETTE

AUGUST WILED

AVA LURE

&

THE LOCKSMITHS

with

FOUR ON THE FLOOR STRING QUARTET

and visuals by

K-TEL

The festival runs from May 1-3. Tickets for the VIBF can be purchased here.

VIBF Legacy

Now in it’s ninth year, the Vancouver International Burlesque Festival is steadily growing into one of North America’s leading burlesque festivals. Performers bring their very best to vie for a spot on the Vogue theatre’s art deco-inspired stage. Pandora & The Locksmiths is honoured to be included again this year. Some of our members would like to share memories from their very first VIBF experience; what they saw, what they felt, and how it changed them as burlesque artists.

MISS FITT:

“My first experience was with Miss Kiss at the VIBF in..was it 2008? It was the first time we ever wore pasties on stage. Burgundy and Purrfessor had us (Miss Kiss,Carole, and myself) as dancers in their Laughedelic Love-In show. It was so much fun to be a part of it. Later that weekend I was nominated for an award for best go-go dancing and officially dubbed ‘The Queen of Go-Go’ by Evil Bastard at the awards show. I had a few gigs as stage Kitty at Kitty Nights prior to that and I guess people noticed my knack for freestyle go-go. I was touched to be recognized in the community even before I had officially made my solo burlesque debut- which I did shortly after on the Kitty Nights stage.”

NICKY NINEDOORS:

“My first VIBF experience was in 2009 at Jenny Magenta’s banquet of broads show at the Wise Hall. I was volunteering at the bar helping with drinks (ie. sitting on the bar and preening) and I struck up a conversation with someone who was admiring my backseam stockings… And a loyal fan was made!”

AVA LURE:

“My first experience was a few months after my Becoming Burlesque grad in 2010. I was volunteering at the Rickshaw selling tickets at the door. When the show began I got to get up from my post and peek into the theatre where I saw Tigger! perform for the first time. I was so blown away by his performance and had never seen anything like it before so I read his bio in his class description. I noticed he had a degree in theatre and thought to myself, ‘I MUST BE THAT AWESOME TOO! I MUST GET A DEGREE IN THEATRE!’ and am now entering the final year of that degree. Overall, a hugely life-changing event.”

RUTHE ORDARE:

“My first experience with the VIBF was in 2011 when I was brand-spanking new! I had debuted in January 2011 and had met a few of my future collective-mates already. I was asked by Pandora & The Locksmiths to kitten their production and was a stage slave for Bloody Betty’s production at the Rickshaw. The next night I was taking tickets and watching the other performances. On showcase night Burgundy asked me to be a part of her “Fireball” number as they were the main sponsor. It was a group number with Lola Frost, Carole Brunette, Miss Fitt and Voracious V!
It’s hard to remember much of it because it was such a whirlwind and I really had no idea how big the community was at that point. I made so many connections at that festival and knew I wanted to be on that stage as a soloist one day. I think Burgundy and the ladies of Pandora had the biggest impact on me because they believed in me as a new performer and gave me opportunities to be involved!”

JOHN BEWS:

“My first experience was with “Things Ain’t What They Used To Be,” our production at the Rickshaw for 2011. We were only a cast of 9 at that time. It went by really quickly and we were left with a large keyhole prop.”

AUGUST WILED:

“My first VIBF experience was 2012, as a spectator. What I remember best was being blown away by Nicky Ninedoors and Sean Bayntun performing “Nude” at the Vogue. As a newbie, I felt at home there, like ‘Yes, these are all my people.'”

For some visual stimulation before we hit the Vogue stage, please peruse these photos from last month’s run of Awakenings. Images by Jess Desaulniers-Lea and Cameron Brown.

Comments are closed.