Scintillating live music and burlesque!

Stolen by a Kiss

With Summer Groove just around the corner, we felt it was time to introduce you to another new member of our collective…
Miss Kiss!

But before we get to her interview (and gallery! Shazam!) let me tell you a little bit about our upcoming show. We have a craaaazy lineup in store for you, and this show is all about the groove. Burgundy Brixx and I will be performing, as per usual, and Miss Fitt will be lending her sweet voice for the show, but in addition to that we have fierce burlesque vocalist Miss Kiss, and Vancouver’s high energy sweet-heart from Sweet Soul Burlesque and the Vancouver Burlesque Centre, Cherry On Top! We’ve never performed with her before and we’ve been dying to for a long time! And with Cherry in the mix, you know there will be lots of  booty groovin music abounding. Have I mentioned how hard we work our musicians? One month it’s all 1940s and classic jazz, the next month we make them do funk and soul. And they switch gears like nobodies business. NBD.

Alright. Let’s get to know Miss Kiss. And let me give you a disclaimer- this little kissing bandit is much more likely to throw you down and kiss you than wait for a knight in shining armour to come deliver one. She’s fierce. Read about her. The lady is gettin naked for you, so get to know her!

***

What is your performance and training background? 

I, like a lot people, did drama and vocal jazz in high school. I have always been a ball of energy that liked to express myself through music, movement and appearance. I was also in a band with a bunch of boys that would play punk rock music in a sweaty basement. We went on to play such big events as my friend Shawna’s house-party-birthday-party. So then the real training came! I took singing lessons after graduating high school, as my first love is singing. I have Celine Dion and the Spice Girls to thank for this. I did some community theatre as well.

After being out of school for a year, my Mom said I better get doing something, so I thought, okay, I like to sing and express myself and dress up in costumes – how bout musical theatre? So I auditioned for the Capilano Musical Threatre Diploma Program. So that is three years of training which includes, but was not limited to: singing, acting, jazz, tap, ballet, film, music theory, and a lot of masterclasses! This does not mean I am a pro at all these things, but I have lots to draw on for performances should I need them! I learned that you can really disguise how terrible you are at tap if you learn to smile…ha! I was the rocker girl dressing up as Alice Cooper for first year ice breakers and not having a clue who Sondheim was. I quickly learned though! I have performed with many local theatre companies since graduating, including Gateway Threatre, Theatre Under the Stars and the Arts Club Theatre. 

 
How and when and why did you get into burlesque?
I remember being a young girl and begging my mom to buy me this blue negligee with white hearts. I was too young to have money of my own and promised I would clean the house if I could have it. She asked what I would even wear such a thing for and I said, ” I don’t know! Cleaning the house?!” I did not get it. But I have certainly made up for that with the lingerie collection I have today! I also would get to wear a very special babydoll of my Grandmother’s when ever I slept over at her house. I felt so glamourous!!! So a love glamour and extravagance started at a young age.

I also started getting into Marilyn Monroe around Grade 9. My dad bought me a Monroe lunchbox as a gift for good grades and I started watching her films and wearing red lipstick everyday – with my doc martins and bondage pants. So I have always had this mix of rock n’ roll and glamour. I also found out I make a terrible blonde and could not be Monroe.

Enter Bettie Page and the burlesque world. “Oh my gawd! So amazing! Where can I find this world?!” I asked myself as a little girl from Surrey. Well thank goodness for The Purrrfessor!!! We were in a production of “Jesus Christ Superstar” with TUTS in 2008 and he told me about Kitty Nights, that I should come out, and maybe Go-Go sometime. Thank you Jesus! Ha! Here are all these amazing women who come in all shapes, sizes and colours just kicking ass on stage being sexy and fun and strong! Love love love at first sight! So needless to say, I did Go-Go, and went on to start doing my own numbers. Burgundy Brixx really showed me how it is done and has always been someone who inspires me as a performer, teacher and friend.  

So more on the “why burlesque”: it is a medium where I feel I get to truly express myself and my vision how I choose. It gives me a chance to be my own character instead of one already created in a script. It also has helped me be more comfortable with myself. Miss Kiss does not have body issues or insecurities – she just wants to have a good time and entertain! 

Where do you draw your inspiration from? 
Lots of musicians have inspired me to be a performer, like Ann Wilson of Heart. Bowie and Iggy have inspired the male in me. And I always say when I grow up, I wanna be Alice Cooper. These people are so theatrical and rock so hard! I draw inspiration from books and comics as well. I am also a film fanatic and see things for stage like a movie in my mind – and then I have to find a way to make it work! When I hear a song I really connect to, I make a music video or film sequence in my head.  And of course a huuuuuuge inspiration is all the sensational ladies from burlesque past and present. Seeing these amazing women work that stage is just so breathtaking and killer. These women are seriously superheros! Awesome superheros who get naked. They inspire me to be greater and try new things, that as a woman you don’t have to be in a box, you can be crazy and cute and fierce and coy and bloody and whatever you can dream up! As the wise Frankie says, “Don’t dream it, be it”. So we shall!
 Any big plans or productions you’re a part of in the future you’re excited about?
I have taken a break this summer from theatre, which gives me a chance to take vacations and see my friends and family! I always say I am a Jack-of-all-Trades and want to do too many things at once. I am so excited to be on stage this summer with Pandora and the Locksmiths. I feel like such a nerd! I have always been in awe of the skilled ladies of Pandora and can’t believe I have been asked to perform with them! Even though I now call some of these ladies friends, I still feel like a fan-girl that has been let backstage. Squee!

***

We’re really stoked to work with Miss Kiss. She has a massive voice, as you may have seen during our “Night Owl Revue” production for the Vancouver International Burlesque Festival, or in Blue Morris’ Beatles Burlesque. With the amount of skill she has, it’s no wonder we’re all trying to get a piece!
Enjoy the photos!

Comments are closed.