Scintillating live music and burlesque!

A Wiled Ride Ahead

Heat Wave! is just around the corner…

and in that production, we’re officially introducing our newest collective members. Last week you got to know Ava Lure, and this week you can get into the head of the sensational…

August Wiled!

Winner of the 2nd place award in Vancouver’s Strip Search for her first ever burlesque performance (!!), August Wiled has materialized onto the burlesque scene here with a passion for this art form and  natural skill that don’t normally come to performers right away. If I do say so myself, ladies and gentlemen, she’s one to watch very closely. We’re pretty awe struck, and very excited to be working with her.

Let’s find out what makes her tick/strip!

***

What is your performance and training background?

  After spending much time dancing in front of ballets on public access television, I was enrolled in dance lessons at the age of three; mostly ballet, but over time including jazz, and lyrical. With dance I was able to spend time performing in competitions, and local shows. I have also performed as a singer, and as a musician; music pervades my life!

  How and when and why did you get into burlesque?

Burlesque and burlesque culture is something I have always been intrigued by. Even as a young teenager, I adored pin up artwork and beautiful lingerie; scratching at the surface, I suppose.  Somehow though, it took me until last year to realize that burlesque was something that I could actually partake in outside the audience role!  I started taking classes with Burgundy at the Vancouver Burlesque Centre, and after just the first one, it became very apparent to me that this was something that I HAD to be involved in, and really something that I was meant to be doing; it’s all my most favorite things combined and makes me so damn happy.

Just a few short months ago, I entered “Strip Search”, a burlesque competition for new performers.  I was delighted at the opportunity to get on stage and really challenge myself to create something I was proud of. I had absolutely no expectations going into it as far as “winning” anything (aside from the experience, and that was enough for me), but much to my surprise, I was awarded second place, and given the opportunity to perform again at Kitty Nights that weekend!!  I was so overwhelmed and humbled by the wonderful responses I got from audience members, and performers that I really look up to; it was like a dream, the most wonderful feeling dream, and completely solidified my decision to continue pursuing the art form further.

On a personal level, burlesque is the most fulfilling thing I have ever done. I am never as nervous as I think I should be before going on stage, and have an obscene amount of fun performing, and feeling so natural in it is a bit of a strange revelation for me; though always looking for an opportunity to laugh, I am a rather reserved person in my daily life, even shy sometimes. I was thinking recently about my “burlesque character”, but in all honesty, it turns out that my character is really just myself in my truest form! Ha, it feels more like the “daytime” me is really the one in character for my 9-5… But in any case, it all makes sense to me now!

  Where do you draw your inspiration from?

Oh my, this is difficult and vast! Of course I am always inspired by other performers, and the level of ingenuity the exists in the burlesque community in general, both past and present, but I would have to say that creatively, I find most of my inspiration in music; music has always been dominant, and even therapeutic in my life.  When I listen to something that I really connect with, it plays out like a film in my head; movements, mood, colors, you name it. I try to just feel it, and let those feelings dictate what I do; I think that’s really important, to put your thoughts aside and just see what happens.

  Any big plans or productions you’re a part of in the future you’re excited about?

I am always conspiring and dreaming…I need more hours in the day to get to all my plans!  First and foremost though, THIS, Pandora and The Locksmiths; I am so excited and honored to be considered a member of such an extraordinary group of talented individuals. I was a fan before I knew anyone in the group, so it seems a bit crazy to me still.  I went to my first PaTL show completely alone because I just really wanted to be there no matter what; I dressed up, did my hair and makeup, and ventured to Guilt and Co. for the evening, it was great!

I am so new to the community, so for now, I’m just going to keep creating, and learning, and getting out there as much as I can; every opportunity is so thrilling for me.  I’m really looking forward to just spending time with, and getting to know other performers as well!

***

Photograph by David Denofreo

Well, there you have it! Like I said, she’s one to watch. A stunning dancer, a total sweetheart, and a powerhouse talent all around!
See you Tuesday, July 10th!

Comments are closed.